Connect Learn Finance

Economic partnership agreements with the EU

The European Union has numerous economic partnership agreements with countries around the world. The European Commission's Export Helpdesk provides a detailed list of the countries that have agreements with the EU.

Economic partnership agreements are:

  • Trade and development arrangements between the EU and the African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) countries – designed to facilitate the ACPs' integration into the world economy through gradual trade liberalisation and improved trade-related cooperation
  • Tailored to suit specific regional circumstances - and promote sustainable growth and poverty reduction through trade (including assistance to help ACPs implement the agreements)
  • Set within the framework of the EU-ACP Partnership Agreement (Cotonou Agreement) governing relations between the EU and the ACP countries. Under the EPAs, EU markets are immediately and fully opened, while ACPs have 15 years to open to EU imports (with protection for sensitive imports) and even 25 years in exceptional cases.

The Economic Partnership Agreements involve negotiations between the EU and 76 countries.

Visit the Overview of EPA negotiations for further information and an up-to-date state of play of current negotiations.

Sign In to ConnectAmericas

By creating an account with ConnectAmericas you are accepting
the Privacy Policy and the Terms and Conditions

Enter the e-mail you used when you registered
for ConnectAmericas to create
a new password